Guide

Advertising budget

Definition, importance, and tips

An advertising budget refers to the total amount a company spends on the marketing and promotion of its products or services. Setting a marketing and advertising budget can help a brand focus on goals and results.

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What is an advertising budget?

An advertising budget is important for a successful marketing plan. Your ad budget is the amount you plan to spend on paid promotion of your brand and/or products over a set time period, such as a year or a quarter.

Businesses spend this budget to cover the cost of running the ads (usually measured in clicks or impressions), designing and producing the ad creatives, and other related expenses, such as hiring an agency to manage their ad campaigns. Your ad budget can impact the type of campaigns your brand creates and strategies your brand implements.

Why is budgeting important in advertising?

Setting an advertising budget ahead of time allows you to anticipate your expenses for long-term business planning. Planning out your budget allows you to be deliberate about the scale of your advertising—number of channels, size of audience, length of campaign, and more.

Without deciding on a budget ahead of time, you may risk either losing track of expenses and overspending on advertising, or may not have enough budget set aside to advertise at all. Both can potentially limit your business’s ability to grow.

Budgeting importance

How do you determine an advertising budget?

To determine your advertising budget, start by deciding what your marketing goals are. These goals should support your business’s marketing strategy, and can range from increasing awareness or consideration to generating repeat purchases or brand loyalty. Your goals will impact your ad budget by informing choices such as which advertising channels you use or the type and size of audience you want to reach.

Two important concepts in creating an advertising budget are media planning and media buying. Media planning sets the stage for your ad campaign, and is the process by which you select advertising channels and formats, and decide on factors such as your audience and key performance indicators (KPIs). Media buying, which occurs after you have your media plan, is the step when you purchase the placements on ad channels (media) that best serve your goals within your budget.

Your media plan—and therefore your advertising budget—should be informed by research. Awareness of industry trends and an understanding of your audience will help you make the right media choices to achieve your goals. If applicable, look at your past advertising campaigns for any insights about what did and didn’t work. Reviewing the expenses from previous campaigns can help estimate the budget you will need.

What do you include in an advertising budget

What do you include in an advertising budget?

Your advertising budget should encompass all costs associated with advertising, from start to finish. For example, production of your ad creatives includes copy, design, video production, and printing. Then there is the cost of distributing the ad in your chosen channel, ranging from cost-per-click or cost-per-mille pricing models for online advertising to postage for direct mail advertising. You also need to account for other required resources, such as purchasing software or hiring an agency.

Is an advertising budget the same as a marketing budget

Is an advertising budget the same as a marketing budget?

Your ad budget will be part of your overall marketing budget, which encompasses other marketing activities alongside paid advertising, such as content marketing, experiential marketing, social media marketing, and events.

Good ad budget

What is a good ad budget?

There is no universal formula for calculating a good ad budget. The best ad budget is one that fits your business’s priorities and long-term goals.

Different advertising channels set different rates for solutions, which will help you determine the best ad budget for your campaign. You will also need to make sure that the business owners and other relevant leaders are aligned and approve your proposed budget. For example, the budget allocation for advertising may be based on a variety of factors, such as the business’s annual revenue or how your advertising goals rank in terms of the business’s overall priorities.

How do you monitor an advertising budget?

To effectively monitor an ad budget, regularly check your real-time spending, set up budget alerts, and review performance metrics. It is important to make timely adjustments by pausing underperforming campaigns, increasing budgets for successful ads, and redistributing funds as needed to optimize your advertising investment.

  • Define your goals and KPIs: You monitor your ad budget by measuring ad performance. Whether or not a campaign is performing well depends on what your goals are. Once you know your goals, you can choose the KPIs that will help evaluate the performance of your ad campaigns. This will determine which metrics you should focus on.
  • Determine your measurement tools: With your KPIs defined, you’ll need to select the correct ad tech that accurately and effectively measures the performance of your campaigns. These tools will be able to help tell you how much you’re spending and if the cost of your advertising is delivering business results.
  • Monitor performance: Now that you know your goals and have selected your measurement tools, you’ll need to regularly monitor the performance of your campaigns. Establish a consistent reporting schedule to generate reports and updates on how your ads are delivering against your business goals.
  • Optimize campaigns: As you regularly get updates on the performance of your campaigns, you can use these insights to adjust your budget accordingly. You may want to allocate more budget to ads that are performing well or redirect funds from an underperforming campaign. These small optimizations can help you optimize your budget in real time during a campaign.
  • Reporting and forecasting: Create comprehensive reports that review campaign performance and results against your KPIs and business goals. It is important to closely analyze campaign reports to inform the budget allocation for future campaigns.

Why is monitoring ad budget important?

Monitoring an ad budget is important because it ensures advertisers can maximize the effectiveness of their campaigns. By monitoring your ad budget, you can help ensure that you’re not overspending, you’re effectively communicating with consumers, and you’re achieving business goals.

Advertising budget metrics

Some metrics, such as sales attributed to advertising, can be monitored and evaluated in the short term. Here are two examples of performance metrics based on sales that are commonly used to evaluate ad campaigns.

ROAS

What is ROAS?

Return on ad spend, or ROAS, is a metric that measures how much you got out of the cost of your ads. You calculate ROAS by dividing your ad-attributed revenue by your ad spend. For example, if you spent $100 on an ad campaign that generated $500 of ad-attributed sales, your ROAS would be 5 ($500 divided by $100).

A higher ROAS indicates a better performance when you are measuring success based on ad-attributed sales. Keep in mind that if you are prioritizing brand awareness or repeat purchase rate, ROAS may not be the most informative success metric, and the ad campaign with the highest ROAS isn’t necessarily the most successful one.

Acos

What is ACOS?

Advertising cost of sales, or ACOS, is a metric that represents ad spend as a percentage of sales for HAQM Ads campaigns, such as Sponsored Products or Sponsored Brands. You calculate ACOS by dividing your ad spend by your ad-attributed revenue, and then multiplying by 100 to get a percentage. For example, if you spent $100 on an ad campaign that generated $500 of ad-attributed sales, your ACOS would be 20% (divide $100 by $500 to get 0.2, and then multiply by 100 to get 20%).

A lower ACOS indicates a better performance when you are measuring success based on ad-attributed sales. However, just like ROAS, ACOS is not the only measure of success and may not even be one of the primary metrics you use for your ad campaign, depending on your goals.

However, if your goal is not directly tied to sales—such as driving brand awareness—then the impact of your advertising isn’t as immediately or directly visible through sales.

What is ROI?

Return on investment, or ROI, is a metric that shows how much money a brand makes from their marketing activities compared to how much they spent on it. By calculating marketing ROI, brands can understand what marketing efforts contribute to the bottom line.

No matter which metrics you use, monitor them regularly for the duration of your ad campaign. You should also look at post-campaign results to evaluate overall performance, but don’t wait until the ad campaign is over before you check on it. In-flight measurement allows you to identify trends and optimize accordingly, or pivot away from a campaign that isn’t performing.

Examples of how monitoring your advertising budget can optimize campaigns

Case Study

When launching their new Hydrate product, Sports Research faced a key challenge: how to identify and access the most effective premium inventory amid numerous Streaming TV (STV) supply options, while maintaining cost efficiency at scale. To address these challenges, Sports Research collaborated with Pacvue, their commerce platform partner, and HAQM Ads to develop a video strategy focused on expanding their customer base. The team concentrated on identifying inventory sources and deals that would effectively reach and engage new, high-value audiences.

At the core of their approach was an APC-enabled programmatic guaranteed (PG) deal, enhanced by custom HAQM Marketing Cloud (AMC) audiences, which included customers who had searched for hydration-related keywords in the last 30 days. Leveraging APC's Audience Collaborations feature, Sports Research activated a deal with a leading STV broadcaster by overlaying their custom AMC audiences against the publisher's deep content signals.

The integration of custom AMC audiences within the APC-enhanced PG deal proved to be a game-changer, yielding results that exceeded Sports Research's expectations. Using 56% less spend compared to the control, the APC-enhanced deal successfully reached the intended audience at a rate approximately 1.8 times higher than the benchmark, while also driving at least 51% more efficient costs in reaching the desired users. This demonstrated the power of combining Sports Research's proprietary AMC audiences with publishers' exclusive deep content signals to curate highly relevant, premium supply.

The combination of expanded reach, improved cost-efficiency, and robust conversion rates showcased the full-funnel impact of APC-enhanced deals, allowing Sports Research to maximize their advertising budget while reaching a broader audience.

woman drinking

Case Study

JLab has sold their consumer electronics products on HAQM since 2014, but they wanted to grow their brand awareness and top-line sales. By collaborating with XPN, an HAQM Marketing Cloud (AMC) service and software provider, JLab gained insights from AMC that helped them achieve greater visibility into their organic retail signals and optimize their ad spend. JLab has used sponsored ads and HAQM DSP to achieve substantial global growth, and they wanted to further increase the reach of their advertising by exploring new ad strategies, including the use of HAQM Streaming TV (STV) ads.

The brand decided to create an AMC account to obtain more information about their customers. To help set up the account, in August 2022, they reengaged HAQM Ads advanced partner Skai, a leading omnichannel advertising platform that specializes in unique decisioning, activation, and optimization solutions across commerce media. Then, in early 2023, JLab began to work with XPN on using insights from AMC to enhance their advertising strategy. By using AMC Flexible Shopping Insights, a subscription-based feature in AMC providing ad-attributed and non-attributed signals, XPN gained a more holistic perspective of JLab’s performance in their Brand Store. They helped JLab identify the ideal products to promote to new-to-brand (NTB) customers, maximizing customer lifetime value and minimizing customer acquisition cost.

JLab implemented changes to their strategy based on the AMC insights they obtained through XPN’s solutions. In three months, they reduced the bid by 50% on their seven highest spending branded keywords, which saved their advertising budget 30% while maintaining stable traffic to product detail pages.

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Measurement solutions from HAQM Ads to help optimize your ad budget

HAQM Ads can help you optimize your ad budget and eliminate wasted media spend with holistic reach and frequency management across HAQM and the open internet. Through HAQM DSP you can consolidate media investments and apply user and household frequency caps to maximize reach across your media investments.

  • Make your working media dollars go further with low tech fees on HAQM DSP. Extend your working media budgets with our low 1% tech fees for programmatic guaranteed (PG) deals on third-party supply, and 0% tech fees for PG deals across HAQM-owned and operated inventory. This is competitive in the industry compared to typical 3%-5% tech fees for PG deals.
  • Connect your brand to customers with increased precision fueled by HAQM signals across their journey. Deliver more relevant ad experiences across digital touchpoints informed by HAQM’s trillions of browsing, shopping, and streaming signals. Our interoperable tech enhances your media investments by combining HAQM’s exclusive signals with publishers’ proprietary data, in concert with your first-party data and third-party data providers, to reach the right audience, at the right time, with the right message.
  • Optimize performance for your media investments and measure results across the funnel. Connect your upper-funnel brand building efforts to downstream performance metrics, and measure what matters with our comprehensive menu of over 70+ trusted measurement solutions. This empowers you to make smarter optimizations and drive efficiency and performance throughout the customer journey.
  • Bid with confidence and maximize supply path efficiencies at no extra charge. HAQM DSP helps redirect your media spend away from low quality made-for-advertising (MFA) sites, and filters out invalid and undesirable traffic from the bid stream.

If you’re new to HAQM Ads and just getting started on advertising, you may be interested in additional resources. We offer the following resources to help you understand your budget options for sponsored ads products like Sponsored Products and Sponsored Brands.

Read our guide on how to plan and set up your advertising budget for Sponsored Products.

Watch our short videos on budget rules for Sponsored Products and how to use them.

Our Introduction to bids and budgets webinar is designed for beginner advertisers and will guide you through the basics of budgets for sponsored ads campaigns.

Once you are comfortable with the basics of sponsored ads budgets, our Tips for optimizing your budgets and bids webinar can help optimize your budget with more advanced tactics.

If you’d like additional support and guidance, reach out to request services managed by HAQM Ads. Budget minimums apply.